Baba ganoush

babaganoush

So, I hear you ask, what is Baba Ghanoush?

 

(Written by wikipedia)

Baba ghanoush is a Levantine dish of eggplant (aubergine) mashed and mixed with olive oil and various seasonings. The Arabic term means “father of pestle” (“baba” means father and “ghanuj” derives from “ghan”, stone for pressing cheese or grain).

A popular preparation method is for the aubergine to be baked or broiled over an open flame before peeling, so that the pulp is soft and has a smoky taste. Often, it is eaten as a dip with khubz or pita bread, and is sometimes added to other dishes. It is usually of an earthy light-brown color.” 

 

I know it’s been a while since I particularly have posted (Em seems a lot better at keeping up with this than me) so here’s a list of excuses of why I haven’t posted in a while:

1. I’ve been away

2. It was my Birthday (officially 16, woo!)

3. I don’t really have a third so please accept one or both of the first two…

But I’m going to try a lot harder to post on my days even I’m traveling and such, I promise, but don’t hold me to it.

This is a nice dip, good on sandwiches, wraps, pita bread or crackers. Basically anything you’d put hummus on you can put Baba ghanoush on.

 

Adapted from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstalls Aubergine recipes:

Ingredients:

3 medium aubergines (1kg)

Juice from 1 lemon

2 Tbsp Tahini

Salt and pepper

2 cloves garlic, diced

To finish:

Parsley, chopped

Olive oil

1-2 tsp cumin seeds, toasted

Preheat your grill to high. Prick the aubergines once or twice with  a fork. Lay them on a foil-lined tray and grill, turning often, for at least 15 minutes, until the skin is blackened all over and flesh beneath is tender. Leave until cool enough to handle, then peel off skin. Put the aubergine flesh into a colander and roughly chop it. Leave to drain, until completely cool.

Tip the aubergine into a food processor and add garlic, tahini, lemon juice and plenty of salt and pepper. Process to a puree. Taste for seasoning and add more lemon juice if you like.

Serve scattered with chopped parsley, toasted cumin seeds and trickle with olive oil.

 

Lib xo

Leave a Reply

