Wonky lamingtons

Lamington

 I decided to make lamingtons for my Dad on father’s day, which is today and look how organised I am actually posting on a day I baked something instead of weeks (in one case months but we wont bring that one up) after!

Apparently (I didn’t know this before) traditionally lamingtons are filled with custard cream and jam in the middle, I haven’t had this before, so I just went with one that didn’t have that.

The sponge is really light and it turned out better than I was expecting. I’ve had some bad experiences making sponge cakes before, even though they are so simple to make. I wasn’t sure about the chocolate icing, I thought it would be a bit watery without butter or chocolate, but it turned out rich and chocolately just the same!

Chocolate covered sponge rolled in coconut does make the most delicious afternoon tea ever.

The one and only reason I am calling these wonky lamingtons is that I absolutely can not cut in a straight line, therefore my lamingtons are wonky.

WONKY LAMINGTONS

Recipe adapted from Donna Hays’s classic lamingtons

makes 9

100g Plain (all-purpose) flour
1/4 tsp Baking powder
4 Eggs
1/2 cup Castor sugar
50g Butter, melted
1 1/2 cups Icing sugar, sifted
50g Cocoa powder, sifted
1/2 cup Boiling water
3 Tbsp Milk
40g Butter, melted
Desiccated coconut, to coat
Leave a Reply

