Moosewood vegan chocolate cake

10441006_910521315629451_6402472992028533211_n

I don’t usually make vegan cakes because I feel like they’ll be less rich or chocolate-y. But a vegan friend came over for lunch and I though I’d give this recipe a go. And I must say I was not disappointed. The cake was moist, chocolate-y and delicious.

What I most liked about this cake recipe was that it doesn’t contain any special (and expensive) ingredients or things that I would have to go out and buy, thus having to leave the house and change out of my pajamas, god forbid. 

I adapted the recipe from Moosewood Cookbook, but you can also find the original recipe on their website www.moosewoodcooks.com

Moosewood vegan chocolate cake

Serves 8

1 1/2 cups flour

1/3 cup unsweetend cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 cup cold water

2 tsp vanilla essence

2 Tbsp cider vinegar

Method

Preheat oven to 190°C.

Grease a 20cm round cake tin and line the bottom with baking paper.

Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, sugar and salt into a bowl, set aside.

In another bowl whisk the oil, water and vanilla essence together.

Whisk the dry and wet ingredients together until smooth .

Once completely combined add the cider vinegar and mix just until evenly distributed.

Pour into cake tin and bake for 20-30 minutes.

Let cool on wire wrack.

Note

I made banana ice cream to go with the cake, that recipe is coming in the next blog post.

Happy baking,

Lib xo 

Leave a Reply

